Chapter 7:- Independence and partition of India (ICSE)

Q1. Name the three members of the cabinet mission.

Ans. The three members of cabinet mission were: Pethik Lawrence, sir Stafford Cripps and AV Alexander. The main purpose of the cabinet mission was:-

(i) To facilitate the transfer of power.

(ii) To help the Indian leader in deciding the form of the government that would suit them after the transfer of power.

(iii) Groups A,B and C to form constitution assemblies from the respective groups.

Q2. Mention any 3 proposals of the Wavell plan.

Ans. Proposals of the Wavell plan:-

  1. Hindus and Muslims would be given equal representation in the viceroy’s executive council.
  2. The constitution of India would be framed by Indians itself.
  3. The power of veto would be in the hands of the viceroy.

Q3. Mention any two clauses of the Mountbatten plan?

Ans. Two clauses of the Mountbatten plan:-

  1. Partition of India into India and Pakistan.
  2. Freedom to be given to India and Pakistan to join the Commonwealth or not.

Q4. Why was Mountbatten's plan finally accepted by the Congress?

Ans. Mountbatten plan was finally accepted by the Congress on bases of:-

  1. The large-scale communal riots that could cause a civil war.
  2. Deadlock between the league and the Congress.
  3. A smaller India would be more viable with strong Centre authority than with a weak center.

Q5.  What were the two proposals related to the princely states in the Mountbatten plan?

Ans. Two proposals related to the princely states in the Mountbatten plan:-

  1. Two proposals related to the princely states in the Mountbatten plan.
  2. the decision to join either India or Pakistan or to remain independent was left upon the princely state.

Q6. Name the last Viceroy of India state one of his proposals in the regard to the princely states.

Ans. Lord Mountbatten was the last British Viceroy of India

proposals regarding princely states were:-

  1. All treaties regarding the princely states done by the British would come to an end.
  2. Princely states would be free to join India or Pakistan or remain independent.

Q7. Name the last viceroy of India state any one of the provisions of the Indian Independence Act of 1947?

Ans. Lord Mountbatten last viceroy of India 

provisions of the Indian Independence Act of 1947 :-

  1. To the new Dominion.
  2. provisions of partition.
  3. governor-general for each Dominion.
  4. Constituent assembly to service Central legislative.
  5. End of jurisdiction of the Pri parliament.
  6. princely states.
  7.  treaties and agreement.
  8. Division of the army and the assets. 
  9. bringing the act into operation.

Q8. Mention any two clauses of the Indian independence act, 1947?

Ans. Following were the two important provisions of the Indian Independence Act 1947:-

  1. British India into two new and fully sovereign Dominions of India and Pakistan with effect from 15th August 1947.
  2. partition of the provinces of Bengal and Punjab between the two new countries.

Q9. Mention any two provisions of Indian Independence Act 1947?

Ans. Two clauses of Indian Independence Act 1947 are:-

  1. The office of secretary of state would be abolished.
  2. Each Dominion was supposed to have a governor general who would function as a constitutional head.

Q.10. Why did the Congress accept the Mountbatten plan?

Ans. Congress accept the Mountbatten plan on the bases of:-

  1. Due to the direct action of the Muslims, communal riots have taken a serious turn. The intern government to abstract not to cooperate.
  2. It was felt that a smaller India with a strong Central authority was better than a bigger country with a week center.
  3. The leader felt that the partition would rid the constitution of separate electorates and India could evolve as a truly secure democratic policy.
  4. The leader felt that further, the delay in the transfer of power would find India in the middle of a Civil War.